A Note to my Followers – Big Changes Coming Soon

Ever since I was a child, I always wanted to have my own sports blog. I made that dream a reality two years ago after changing my major from accounting to mass communications at Bloomsburg University. Since then, I have been writing and “podcasting” as often as possible to build up this blog with content.

While I think that I have done a great job of being Mr. sports reporter for two years, I have come to the realization that just having a blog named after me is simply not enough to build a decent, loyal following. Yes, its great to have my friends and family reading my posts and supporting me (and to those who have followed my work ever since I started this blog, thank you – you know who you are), but what I am trying to do ultimately is reach an entire fan-base. To do that, I am not sure that having a website simply titled “The Jake McDonnell Sports blog” is going to be enough.

Unless you are an established sports reporter that has hundreds of thousands of followers, it is difficult to gain a following with a generic name. You need creativity; you need a brand. So, ever since I got home from Bloomsburg two weeks ago, I have been thinking of a new name for my sports blog & podcast that will be more than just a name, but a brand.

With all of this being said, in the coming weeks there will be significant changes coming to this sports blog. These changes include and are not limited to:

  • A new title, with a new webpage address
  • A new logo
  • A team of writers other than myself who will be writing and producing content as they please, with me being the editor-in-chief (Don’t worry, I will still be posting as often as possible along with everyone else).
  • New social media accounts (Also don’t worry, I am keeping mine – there will be new accounts for the blog under a new name)

I know that I am throwing a lot at you right now, but just bear with me. I am in the process of getting everything set up for the re-launch, and it is my hope to have everything “done” before I go back to Bloomsburg in three weeks. What my followers need to do in the mean time is stay up-to-date with my social media accounts, where the links to the everything will be provided.

Once again, I want to thank all of you who have been keeping up with my content. You have no idea how much I appreciate it. It does not go unnoticed. At the same time, I cannot tell you how excited I am to get the ball rolling with this re-launch. Here’s to everything this blog & podcast has accomplished so far, and here’s to building and expanding as 2017 begins.

-Jake

Leave a Reply

