Update: June 22, 2015 From my IPad 

I did have something planned to post today, I really did. 

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted on here. Don’t get me wrong, I want to post and post often, but I am busy working two jobs this summer and it has been hard to find time to sit down and crank out a sports column. 

Part of the reason why it has been a long time is that I ordered two USB microphones for my laptop to help me record my summer podcasts. If you’ve listened to my other podcasts I’ve made on my laptop so far, you know that the audio quality is not too good, thus why I ordered two microphones to help solve that problem. 

Well today they came, and conveniently so considering I had a rare off day from work today.

Since I had a few hours to spare, I decided to sit down and play around with the mics until I felt comfortable using them. I figured it out quickly and had an idea of doing a podcast just talking about the Orioles and the turnaround they’ve had recently. I was ready to go and was planning on uploading that podcast today, but then bad things happened.

My computer froze.

I got this message:  

 I thought to myself, “awesome, these microphones are trash and just messed up my computer.” But after my laptop rebooted, it turned out to be a whole other issue. 

I couldn’t connect to my wireless internet, all that worked was the Ethernet cable. 

So, because I have no interest or knowledge of fixing the problem myself, I reached out to my friends and called HP who I was on the phone with for over two hours and no one could come up with a solution. HP installed a bunch of updates and even rebooted my computer and still my laptop will not connect to my WiFi. It is as if the wireless function has been completely erased from my computer, and now I have to send it to HP for repairs. 

So the bottom line is, I have no idea when my next post is going to be. I do have a desktop computer at my house, but I do not have my podcast software installed on it and don’t want to install it there. I can write on my blog but I cannot upload a podcast which is what I wanted to do today, so I apologize for not being able to do that. It has been a very frustrating day and I have no idea how long it will take to fix my laptop, but until it’s fixed and able to connect wirelessly I cannot promise anything. 

I have not fallen off of the planet, if you follow me on social media you will see my Orioles rants every day among other things. I have several exciting things coming up, such as vacations and a Radio Institute up at Bloomsburg which includes a tour of Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia, so a post there is possible if my computer gets fixed in time for me to bring it with me. 

That’s about it. I’m done venting. 

Until next time (whenever that is),

Jake

Follow WMCD on Twitter!

Like WMCD on Facebook!

Listen to the WMCD podcasts on SoundCloud!

Leave a Reply

